New Background Location Control on Facebook for Android
Inorder to improve location settings on android, Facebook now adds new privacy controls that lets you block background location tracking. This allow users more control over how much information they share with Facebook. On 20th February 2019, Facebook announced an update to Facebook’s location controls on Android to give people more choice over how they collect location information and how they store it. Facebook is not making any changes to the choices you’ve previously made nor are they collecting any new information as a result of this update.
The new update introduces a new background location control on Facebook for Android so people can choose if they want us to collect location information when they’re not using the app. For example, when people choose to use Nearby Friends, a feature that lets friends share their locations with each other, they give Facebook permission to access their location even when they’re not using the app.
With this location control update, you’ll have a dedicated way to choose whether or not to share your location when you aren’t using the app. Because until today, people using these features were asked to enable Location History. If you enabled this setting, two things happened: you would share your location when you weren’t using the app and you would allow Facebook to store a history of your precise locations.
If anyone asks “how does it work”, well we can only say that For people who previously chose to turn their Location History setting “on,” the new background location setting is “on.” For people who had turned Location History “off” – or never turned it on in the first place – the new background location setting is “off.”
More Information About Android and iOS Settings | Location Control | Facebook
Today, the Location Services setting that iOS provides gives you three choices for when an app can access your precise location:
- Never: Your app can’t access your precise location
- While Using: Your app can access your precise location while you’re using the app
- Always: Your app can access your precise location even when you’re not using the app
Today, Android’s Location Services setting gives you two choices on whether an app can access your precise location:
- Off: Your app can’t access your precise location
- On: Your app can access your precise location at any time
Location information makes it possible for people to use Facebook to plan events, see more relevant ads, mark themselves safe in a crisis and share their favorite places. With the new update Facebook is alerting everyone using the Facebook app on an Android device who chose to turn on Location History in the past, letting them know about the new control, and asking them to take a moment to check that their settings are right for them. If you’ve never turned on Location History, you don’t have to do anything.