Amidst the data breach issues and scrutiny engulfing Facebook, the social media giant introduced a new feature for Facebook Messenger, just like WhatsApp, with which one can “UNSEND” a message up to 10 minutes after sending that message, for both individual and group chats. Facebook Messenger will now enable users to delete messages that they might have accidentally sent.
This new feature works when you tap on the message you want to delete within 10 minutes of sending it. Two options will appear: Remove for Everyone and Remove for You. Selecting Remove for Everyone replaces your message with text that the message has been removed by you.
This feature is just like WhatsApp’s Delete for Everyone feature, Facebook Messenger’s Delete for Everyone feature too comes with a narrow window within which you can unsend the sent message. However, unlike WhatsApp, which gives you over an hour to delete the sent message from public eye, Facebook Messenger gives you just 10 minutes to delete the sent message for everyone.
Facebook Messenger now lets people delete sent message for everyone. Earlier this feature was enabled for only Mark Zuckerberg who could delete messages but the average user couldn’t. Messenger users can delete a sent message within 10 minutes of sending it. Messenger’s unsend feature is available as a part of update on Android and iOS platforms. Facebook Messenger has rolled out its Delete for Everyone feature to its users across the globe on Android and iOS platforms. All you need to do is update your Messenger app and you are good to go.