After the announcement by Google to shut down its Google Plus, recently Team Google+ mailed its users who have their personal account or managed a G+ Page. In the mail the Team said that in December 2018, they announced their decision to shut down Google+ for consumers in April 2019 due to low usage and challenges involved in maintaining a successful product that meets consumers’ expectations. They wanted to thank their users for being part of G+ and provide next steps, including how to download their photos and other content. As early as February 4th, users will no longer be able to create new G+ profiles, pages, communities or events.
They further said, “On April 2nd, your Google+ account and any Google+ pages you created will be shut down and we will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. Photos and videos from Google+ in your Album Archive and your Google+ pages will also be deleted. You can download and save your content, just make sure to do so before April. Note that photos and videos backed up in Google Photos will not be deleted.”
The process of deleting content from consumer G+ accounts, G+ Pages, and Album Archive will take a few months, and content may remain through this time. For example, users may still see parts of their G+ account via activity log and some consumer G+ content may remain visible to G Suite users until consumer G+ is deleted.
FAQs relating to Google+ Shut Down
- If you’re a G+ Community owner or moderator, you may download and save your data for your G+ Community. Starting early March 2019, additional data will be available for download, including author, body, and photos for every community post in a public community.
- If you sign in to sites and apps using the G+ Sign-in button, these buttons will stop working in the coming weeks but in some cases may be replaced by a Google Sign-in button. You’ll still be able to sign in with your Google Account wherever you see Google Sign-in buttons.
- If you’ve used G+ for comments on your own or other sites, this feature will be removed from Blogger by February 4th and other sites by March 7th. All your G+ comments on all sites will be deleted starting April 2, 2019.
- If you’re a G Suite customer, G+ for your G Suite account should remain active. Contact your G Suite administrator for more details. You can also expect a new look and new features soon.
The Google+ team, thanks its users for making it a special place. They are grateful for the talented group of artists, community builders, and thought leaders who made Google+ their home. They further said that it would not have been the same without its users’ passion and dedication.
Also Read:: Delete These Apps Immediately If You Have Them